The Overwrite function refers to replacing existing contact details with new information and updating them from thereon. This includes both info that appears within the app and info that is in your device contact list.
*Please note that according to Facebook policy, only the Facebook name and profile photo can be integrated into the device contact list. All of the other information will be visible from within the app. For more info: http://bit.ly/10cQD4C
Overwrite Off is the default setting for syncing. This prevents Sync.ME from overwriting/replacing original contact photos and names (entered in the contact). It also prevents other contact information from being overwritten and replaced inside the app. Therefore, if you have existing contact pictures in your contact list, and the Overwrite is Off, Sync.ME will not overwrite & update this information.
Note: The overwrite setting does not refer to empty contact details. For instance, if a contact is missing a contact photo, the new photo from your contact's social network profile will be integrated in your contact list, even if Overwrite is disabled.
Enabling the Overwrite feature (turning it On) gives Sync.ME permission to manage these fields from now on, and update each sync for you. Once Sync.ME retrieves and changes contact information, this will be automatically updated on each sync.
If you have enabled this feature, Sync.ME will keep these fields synced and update them. For example, if you enabled Overwrite for photos, then Sync.ME will keep updating your contact's photos. Once this is enabled, there is not a way to manually turn this off for all of your contacts.
However, Sync.ME does not overwrite fields which were manually edited or removed. Therefore, if you would like to stop photos from being replaced by Sync.ME, turn the Overwrite Off, and then manually edit the photo or remove it.
To change the Overwrite settings:
- Open the left side menu
- Press "Settings"
Once you tap on settings, tap on contact sync:
You can choose to Overwrite contact photos or other contact information. Overwrite contact photos will also be overwritten inside the native device contact list. All other information will be overwritten inside the app.